Walker Building Center has been a fixture in the Walker Community as a lumber yard for almost 100 years in one fashion or another.
The history of this lumber company started as Bailey’s Lumber Company in the 1950’s and was downtown Walker until it was moved to the current location. At the current location – this area was situated next to the railroad tracks and was used by the train for loads of coal. One of the buildings had a scale to weigh the coal as it was loaded onto the rail cars. That building is still in existence today and the scale is still in the building.
Walker Building Center has had several different owners. In June of 2015 Richard & Mary Bull and Bob Yontz purchased the company. Richard and Bob have worked at Walker Building Center for 23 and 15 years respectively. There has been a continuity of service with the experience they provide.